University of Pécs

Flag of

  +3672536000  |  |

The modern university of Pécs was founded on 1 January 2000 through the merger of JanusrnPannonius University, the Medical University of Pécs and the Illyés Gyula Teacher Training College of Szekszárd. However, its roots go back to 1367 when the Anjou king of Hungary, Louis the great established the first Hungarian university in Pécs.

With its ten faculties – Faculty of Adult Education and Human Resources Development, Faculty of Business and Economics, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Law, Medical School, Faculty of Music and Visual arts, Faculty of Sciences, Illyés Gyula Faculty of Education and Pollack Mihály Faculty of Engineering – the University of Pécs plays a significant role in Hungarian higher education. The University offers a broad range of training and degree programmes, ensuring high-level knowledge-transfer and research.

With its more than 29.000 students and nearly 2.000 teaching and research staff the impact of the University of Pécs extends well beyond the borders of Pécs.


Group membership

University of Pécs participates in the following groups…

Specialised Groups

Muscle diseases
Peripheral Nerve Disease
Motor Neuron Disease
Mitochondrial Diseases

Cross Cutting Specialised Groups


Advisory Boards


The ERNs are co-funded by the
European Union (Health Programme and CEF)

EU Commission

“EURO-NMD is one of the 24 European Reference Networks (ERNs) approved by the ERN Board of Member States. The ERNs are co-funded by the European Union (Health Programme and CEF).
For more information about the ERNs and the EU health strategy,
please visit